‘THE STRAIN’: Guillermo del Toro Says They’re Writing the First Season Before Filming

In addition to being knee-deep in post-production on his next directorial feature, Pacific Rim, filmmaker Guillermo del Toro is also juggling a number of other projects in various stages of development.  One such project that many are keeping an eye on is an adaptation of the vampire trilogy The Strain, a book series that he co-wrote with Chuck Hogan.

del Toro comments:

“Chuck [Hogan] and I co-wrote the pilot, which I’m directing, I cast the series, and I go and rewrite and make my notes and collaborate with every single screenplay in the series.

We’re doing something that is not normal.  We created a writer’s room, [and] I’ve been there from the beginning laying out the first season, and I am involved in every one of those screenplays of the first season, which we are writing before we shoot the series.  Normally a series is shot in such a way that you’re getting the screenplay under the door the morning before you shoot the next episode.  We’re mapping the first season completely so I can be involved.  And I’ll be involved in the shooting of the first few chapters, the first probably four or five as an on-set producer, and then Crimson Peak shoots and I cannot be physically there.”

Follow the source here.

One Comment on “‘THE STRAIN’: Guillermo del Toro Says They’re Writing the First Season Before Filming

  1. Pingback: ‘Helix’ Season 1: Official Trailer Release | THE OUTBREAK

Leave a Reply

